The New Zealand Kendo National Championships was established in 2001.  The Nationals were run on an annual basis from 2001 until 2014 (with the exception of 2003 when the Nationals were not run because of the World Kendo Championships in Glasgow Scotland).  Following 2014 it was decided the Nationals would be run on a triennial basis.  The Nationals are open to competitors who are New Zealand citizens or permanent residents.

The Rembuden Kendo Club has a proud history at the National Championships.  In particular, Rembuden won the men's team competition 2004 - 2013 and Sachiyo Lee was the Women's Champion 2001-2005.  A summary of the results of Rembuden Kendo Club's results at the Nationals can be found here.